The MHM Committee consists of volunteers who sit on the Committee on behalf of an organization or group that recognizes and participates in Mi’kmaq History Month in some way. The MHM Committee membership represents the following organizations, stakeholders and partners, but is not limited to:

  • Grand Council
  • Host Organization – Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq
  • Mi’kmaq Association for Cultural Studies (MACS)
  • Union of Nova Scotia Indians
  • Chief Wilbert Marshall, Lead Chief Culture and Heritage portfolio
  • Native Council of Nova Scotia
  • Provincial Government Departments (Education and Early Childhood Development, Aboriginal Affairs, Communities, Culture and Heritage)
  • Mi’kmaq – Nova Scotia – Canada Tripartite Forum
  • Federal Government Departments (Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada)
  • Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey (MK)
  • Kwilmu’kw Maw-klusuaqun Negotiation Office (KMKNO)
  • Mi’kmaq Native Friendship Centre
  • Nova Scotia Native Women’s Association

This list is not a fully inclusive list. Additional MHM Committee members may be added if required and requested, to ensure the success of MHM.